About Kevin

E. Kevin Kelloway is the Canada Research Chair in Occupational Health Psychology and Professor of Psychology at Saint Mary’s University, Halifax, Nova Scotia. He received his Ph.D. in Organizational Psychology from Queen’s University in 1991 and began his career in the Department of Psychology at the University of Guelph.

In 1999 he joined the Faculty of Commerce at Saint Mary’s University as Professor of Management and Psychology. In 2006 he was appointed as a Senior Research Fellow at the CN Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. Dr. Kelloway was the founding Ph.D. Program Director for the Saint Mary’s Faculty of Commerce (2000 – 2003), the founding Director of the CN Centre for Occupational Health and Safety and a founding principal of the Centre for Leadership Excellence. In 2009 he was appointed as the Tier I Canada Research Chair in Occupational Health Psychology.

Dr. Kelloway is a prolific researcher having published over 200 articles, book chapters, and technical reports in addition to 14 authored/edited books.    Active in several professional societies he is Past-Chair of the Canadian Society for Industrial/Organizational Psychology and in 2016 was President of the Canadian Psychological Association – Canada’s national association for psychology.  As a consultant, Dr. Kelloway maintains an active practice consulting to private and public sector organizations on issues related to leadership, occupational health psychology and human resource management.

Learn More

Honours and Awards

2007.   SMU President’s Award for Excellence in Research

2009.     Fellow, Society for Industrial/Organizational Psychology

2009.     Fellow, Association for Psychological Science

2010.      Fellow, Canadian Psychological Association

2014.      Fellow, International Association of Applied Psychology

2015.      Distinguished contribution to I/O Psychology Award (CSIOP)

2016.      Distinguished Psychologist in Management Award (SPIM)

2019.     Presidential recognition as a Scientist-Practitioner (SIOP)

2019.    SMU President’s Award for Exemplary Service